Life Care Center of Cheyenne Statement from Life Care Center of Cheyenne regarding COVID-19
Life Care Center of Cheyenne

Statement from Life Care Center of Cheyenne regarding COVID-19


Skilled Nursing & Rehabilitation in Cheyenne, WY

Updated: Sunday, November 22, 7:07 p.m. MST

Life Care Center of Cheyenne is committed to providing a high level of service in a safe environment that brings peace of mind to our residents and their families.

From the beginning of the pandemic, our associates have followed all guidelines from the Center for Disease Control and the Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services. We continue to work closely with the Wyoming Department of Health, the Agency for Health Care Administration and the Laramie County Department of Health as our associates battle COVID-19.

Here are the latest details from our facility:

  • 91 resident cases: 1 active resident case at the facility, 1 hospitalized, 13 deaths, 2 discharged home and 74 recovered.
  • 57 associate cases: Associates are slowly recovering and returning to work after meeting CDC guidelines.
  • Sunday, October 11 – Two staff members tested positive for COVID-19 at outside clinics. We notified our patients immediately, as well as responsible parties. Four residents showed signs and symptoms of the virus, received a rapid test and tested positive. They are in our red COVID-19 unit receiving care and treatment.
  • Monday, October 12 – All residents were tested; associates testing was started.
  • Tuesday, October 13 – Associate testing completed.
  • Wednesday, October 14 – Eight additional residents for a total of 12 positive cases. 11 of the residents are isolated in our red COVID-19 unit, and one is receiving care at the hospital. No additional associate cases.
  • Thursday, October 15 – Four new residents tested positive and are on the COVID-19 unit, bringing the total of resident cases to 16. No new associate cases.
  • Friday, October 16 – No additional resident cases with to residents hospitalized for further care. Sadly, one of our dear residents passed away early this morning from COVID-19 complications. We are deeply grieved to lose one of our Life Care residents who we consider our family, and we send our deepest heartfelt sympathy to this resident's family and loved ones. Four additional associates tested positive, bringing our associate total to six.
  • Saturday, October 17 – Two staff members tested positive at outside clinics. No new resident cases. Two residents from our red COVID-19 unit went to the hospital for additional care and treatment.
  • Sunday, October 18 – One associate tested positive at an outside clinic. No new resident cases.
  • Monday, October 19 – One additional resident tested positive. One additional resident went to the local hospital for additional care. One resident died Sunday night; we extend our deepest sympathy to family and loved ones. All residents and staff are being tested today.
  • Tuesday, October 20 – Seven new resident cases. No new associate cases.
  • Wednesday, October 21 – Five new resident cases. No new associate cases.
  • Thursday, October 22 – Eight new resident cases. Two new associate cases.
  • Friday, October 23 – Three new resident cases and four new associate cases. Two residents went to the hospital for additional care. Three residents officially recovered and moved off of the red COVID-19 unit.
  • Saturday, October 24 – No new resident or associate cases. We are deeply saddened that one of our residents has passed away at the hospital due to complications from COVID-19. We send our sincere condolences to their family and loved ones.
  • Sunday, October 25 – Two new resident cases, and one new associate case. One additional resident has officially recovered and moved off of the red COVID-19 unit.
  • Monday, October 26 – Five new resident cases and four new associate cases. Two additional residents have recovered and moved off the red COVID-19 unit.
  • Tuesday, October 27 – Five new resident cases and one new associate case. Two additional residents have recovered and moved off the red COVID-19 unit.
  • Wednesday, October 28 – 14 new resident cases and 3 new associate cases.
  • Thursday, October 29 – Two new resident cases and two new associate cases. We, sadly, lost an additional resident; we extend our sincere condolences to family and loved ones.
  • Friday, October 30 – Six new resident cases and four new associate cases.
  • Saturday, October 31 – Three new resident cases. We are deeply saddened that one of our residents has passed away at the hospital due to complications from COVID-19. We send our sincere condolences to their family and loved ones.
  • Sunday, November 1 – Two new residents tested positive. Seven additional residents have recovered. One resident passed away at the hospital; we send our deepest sympathy to family and loved ones.
  • Monday, November 2 – No new positive cases for residents or associates. We sadly lost two more residents, and we share our deepest sympathy with their families and loved ones.
  • Tuesday, November 3 – One resident tested positive, one resident returned from the hospital and four additional residents recovered.
  • Wednesday, November 4 – Two residents tested positive. One associate tested positive.
  • Thursday, November 5 – Seven residents tested positive. Five associates tested positive.
  • Friday, November 6 – No new resident cases, and 15 additional residents recovered!
  • Saturday, November 7 – One new resident case, and eight additional residents recovered.
  • Sunday, November 8 – No new resident cases, and two additional resident recoveries. One new associate case.
  • Monday, November 9 – No new resident cases, and two additional residents recovered. Three residents passed away; we send our sincere sympathy and deepest condolences to their families and loved ones.
  • Tuesday, November 10 – No new resident cases, and six additional residents recovered.
  • Wednesday, November 11 – No new resident cases, and two additional residents recovered. Two new associate cases.
  • Thursday, November 12 – Two new associate cases.
  • Friday, November 13 – One resident recovery, and no new resident cases. One additional associate case. One discharged patient returned for additional care.
  • Saturday, November 14 – No changes.
  • Sunday, November 15 – No new resident cases, and one new associate case. One resident who had previously recovered passed away; we send our deepest sympathy to their family and loved ones.
  • Monday, November 16 – No new resident or associate cases. Four additional residents recovered!
  • Tuesday, November 17 – No new cases. Five additional residents recovered.
  • Wednesday, November 18 – Now new resident cases. One resident returned from the hospital, and a total of five residents recovered. One additional associate case.
  • Thursday, November 19 – One new resident case and one new resident recovery. One resident passed away; we send our deepest sympathy to their family and loved ones.
  • Friday, November 20 – One additional resident recovered.
  • Saturday, November 21 – No changes.
  • Sunday, November 22 – One additional resident recovered, and one additional associate tested positive.

We commend our faithful staff, who are working their hearts out to fight this virus and prevent the spread. We continue to stay in regular communication with our patients' loved ones and continue to update with any change of conditions.

We are thankful for the support and prayers from the community during this difficult time.

Clint Scearce, executive director

COVID-19: Information and Inspiration from Life Care Centers of America


Explore the latest from Life Care Centers of America regarding the Coronavirus pandemic.

Learn More